Santiago de Cuba

Area: 6,156.44 km² (2,377 sq mi)
Population: 1,043,202 (2004)
Municipalities: Contramaestre, Guamá, Mella, Palma Soriano, San Luis, Santiago de Cuba, Segundo Frente, Songo-La Maya, Tercer Frente

Former capital of Cuba, located south of the island between the provinces of Granma (west) and Guantanamo (east). The capital of the province is bearing the same name. It is a city of about 400,000 inhabitants, the second largest after Havana. Located between the sea and the mountains of Sierra Maestra, Santiago is a major fishing port and a center for exportation of copper, nickel, iron and agricultural products.



(in French only)
Online since 2008

(Click the thumbnail to access our website)

Top of page